Online Resources and Databases

Authentication to these resources require our patrons to enter not only their library card number, but also their PIN (Personal Identification Number).

Due to contractual agreements and budgetary restrictions, access to the subscription databases is reserved for Hamilton East Public Library card holders only. PLAC and reciprocal borrowers will not be allowed access to the subscription databases.

Our authentication, and therefore access to the databases and our catalog, is not available from 11:30 p.m. to 3:00 a.m. to run a complete backup of our automation system.

We do apologize for any inconvenience this may cause


Classic Catalog
Our Classic Catalog allows you to search our catalog of materials from anywhere on the web. It also enables users to perform many additional tasks such as check account status, place holds, see what items are checked out and when they are due and leave messages for our staff. Click here for instructions.
AOL users please read this.
 
Online Databases
HEPL subscribes to the following premium online databases to aid our patrons in conducting research. You must be a HEPL Cardholder to access these resources outside of our buildings.
Archives Unbound - County and Regional Histories & Atlases - Indiana
Included in this collection on Indiana are Thirteen cities and regions covered in 262 titles. These titles comprise tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans.
AtoZdatabases
AtoZdatabases is the Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
AtoZ Maps Online
AtoZMapsOnline.com is a valuable teaching tool with 2,700 full-color flag images and icons, 300 geography crossword puzzles, 267 geography lesson plans, 30 interactive geography games, and quizzes.
AtoZ The USA - State Information
AtoZ The USA contains factual information about the 50 states and territories of the United States of America
AtoZ World Travel - World Cities
AtoZ World Travel is a comprehensive, informative, and fun e-content travel database offering free and exclusive tourist and culture information on more than 160 of the top travel destinations in North America and around the globe.
Book News
Award winning books, bestsellers and a variety of newsletters with more reading suggestions.
Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database
Statistical information about more than 70 million companies
Esebco
eSebco offers a collection of interactive children's books.  To access, enter login:  hepl3, password:  BOOKS.  When prompted, enter your library card number.
FactCite
FactCite is a comprehensive online database with thousands of searchable full-text articles and printable illustrations. FactCite incorporates powerful Thunderstone search technology.
 
Financial Ratings Series
Formally TheStreet.com Ratings
Financial Ratings Series Online is the source for accurate ratings that you can rely upon to make sound, informed financial decisions. Both Weiss Ratings & TheStreet Ratings have an excellent track record for identifying and warning the public about troubled companies before they fail, and their superior results speak for themselves.
Fold3
Fold3 is a place where original historical documents are combined with social networking in order to create a truly unique experience involving the stories of our past.
Gale Directory Library
Gale Directory Library offers you an online collection of premier directories, expanding your power to search for directory entries in a variety of ways, as well as giving you quick and easy digital ways to view, store and export the data you find.
Global Road Warrior - Country Information
The Global Road Warrior Library Edition is the most comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference available in the world and covers 175 countries.
Heritage Quest
A genealogy database with primary source materials, local and family histories.
Indianapolis Star
Search the Indianapolis Star.
Inspire
Magazine index with resources such as a biography index and Medline access.
"INSPIRE is supported by the Institute of Museums and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Indiana State Library."
Legal Forms
Legal forms specifically for Indiana residents
Morningstar
Morningstar provides investment research, including stock and fund analysis, reports, and tools, as well as company, investing, and financial news.
New Book Alerts
Subscribe to New Book Alerts newsletters to check on new books, movies and music arriving at the library every week. As soon as a new title “hits-the-shelf” you’ll be one of the first to know about it.
NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. With its fun and intuitive interface, and extensive feature content, NoveList K-8 Plus will help you integrate reading across the curriculum and support your young readers.
NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus® is a powerful online tool for ensuring that library patrons find books that will keep them reading and coming back to the library for more. A unique, easy-to-use, searchable online database with over 251,000 fiction and nonfiction titles, NoveList Plus includes specialized content such as Read-alikes for popular authors, book discussion guides, award lists and much more
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, a virtual library of resources from Gale designed to aid students in the study of today's hottest social issues.
OverDrive
OverDrive offers downloadable AudioBooks, eBooks, Music and Videos
PebbleGo
PebbleGo, the award winning PreK-3 database for reading and research, introduces Earth and Space concepts to your early readers! Now your students can choose; PebbleGo Animals or PebbleGo Earth and Space.
PowerKids Life Science!
PowerKids Life Science! is a content-driven, visually stimulating, and media-rich online science resource specifically designed for learners in grades 3 to 6.
Reference USA
Residential and business addresses and phone numbers
Salem Press Health Database
Online access to Salem Press' award-winning health reference works.
Salem Press History Database
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets
Something About The Author
Something About the Author Online brings you comprehensive online access to thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators, all in an easy-to-use interface that is ideal for teachers, librarians, professors, students, and other researchers of children's and young adult literature.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Standard and Poor's business and financial information contained in Standard and Poor's stock reports, industry surveys, corporation records and much more
Trueflix
TrueFlix is an online resource that combines award-winning True Books content with reading supports and a deep and diverse collection of related videos, images, Web links, and text. TrueFlix is based on the True Books print series published by Children's Press, an imprint of Scholastic Library Publishing. TrueFlix is published by Scholastic Inc., with editorial development, content management, and engineering provided by Scholastic Digital Learning Solutions.
Tumblebooks
The TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books). TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which we have licensed from children's book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.
TumbleBook Cloud
The Tumblebook Cloud offers e-books, audiobooks and videos aimed at middle and high school students.
Value Line Investment Survey
Value Line
World Book Online
Includes World Book Reference Center for advanced researchers, Info Finder for school-aged information seekers, World Book for Kids for younger children, and World Book Discover for ESL and Adult Literacy students?
Drupal 6 Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux