Rainy Day Reads

Rainy Day Reads

Rainy Day Reads

By: Kirsten Edwards

April is made for reading.  Escape the dreary weather and curl up with a rainy day read guaranteed to entertain.

Fiction:


The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein has been a patron favorite for years.  It’s the story of Enzo, a good dog who reflects back on his life, hoping to be reincarnated as a human.  It’s an inspiring and moving story for fans of Marley and Me and A Dog’s Purpose.


Historical fiction:


Set during the early dustbowl storms of 1930s Oklahoma, I Will Send Rain by Rae Meadows tells the story of Annie Bell and her family. The Bells endure the drought while navigating through adolescent pitfalls, illness, and broken hearts.  The landscape descriptions are so detailed, you’ll reach for a glass of water every time you turn the page.

London Rain by Nicola Upson is a mystery for the rainiest of days.  Amateur sleuth, Josephine Tey, investigates a murder at the BBC during George VI’s coronation.  Tey’s character is loosely based on the real Josephine Tey, a playwright and mystery author.  This leisurely paced mystery is in the vein of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline Winspeare.


Romance:


Wild Rain by Christine Feehan is the perfect book for paranormal romance fans.  Feehan takes readers on a steamy adventure through the jungle, complete with cat fights, assassins, and shape-shifting hunks.  This sexy, fast paced story has a similar style to Sherrilyn Kenyon and Nora Roberts.

The Rain Sparrow by Linda Goodnight is a contemporary romance set in small town Tennessee about a reclusive mystery author seeking redemption and the caring librarian he falls for.  Great for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Lisa Kleypas.


Mystery/Thriller:


Snarky Belfast detective Sean Duffy is on the case, investigating the death of a reporter in Rain Dogs by Adrian McKinty.  What looks like suicide may in fact be cold-blooded murder.  This is a gritty police procedural set in 1980’s Ireland.


Nonfiction:


Cynthia Barnett is an Environmental Journalist who looks into the history, cultural influence, and myth of rain in Rain: A Natural and Cultural History.  There’s a little pop culture and geography, and a lot of natural science in this captivating book.

Looking for more suggestions?  Give our My Next Book service a try!  Click here to receive personalized book recommendations.

 



Both libraries will be closed on Monday, May 27 in honor of Memorial Day.