Kirsten Edwards Tag

The Bookseller By: Cynthia Swanson What if? Two simple words at the center of The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson. Swanson takes the reader back and forth between two different lives of an ordinary woman. Our heroine is Katharyn “Kitty” Miller. She’s in her late thirties, lives alone in...

The Ex By: Alafair Burke Olivia Randall is a top defense attorney in New York City working under the tutelage of her respected mentor. She’s career-minded and likes the comfortable routine of drinks with her BFF and defending the innocent. Her world is upended by a plucky...

The Luckiest Girl Alive By: Jessica Knoll When a book comes out that is supposed to be “the next Gone Girl”, I usually roll my eyes and ignore the book.  The Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll fell into this category for me – until last month.  This...

The Storyteller By Jodi Picoult Jodi Picoult is one of those authors everyone seems to love, but when you mention The Storyteller you get mixed reviews.  For me, this is Picoult’s best novel.  Maybe it’s the characters and backdrop of WWII that fascinate me, maybe I just like...

The Crossing Places By: Elly Griffiths The Crossing Places is the first book in the Ruth Galloway mystery series.  It’s set in modern day Norfolk and takes the reader all over the cool, foreboding eastern UK coastline.  Ruth Galloway is our heroine.  By day she’s a professor and forensic...

Persuasion By: Jane Austen During the holidays I often revisit some of my favorite books.  This year I dove right back into one of my favorites, Persuasion by Jane Austen.  Like Austen’s other romances, this is a character-driven story dealing with 18th Century British class structure and customs.  ...

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake By: Amy E. Reichert If you happen to follow my book reviews, you’ll notice I have a soft spot for romance.  Lately, I’ve enjoy a side of recipes with my romance.  The Coincidence of Coconut Cake is a new romance novel by Amy...

The Pursuit of Mary Bennet By: Pamela Mingle Jane Austen and Regency romance fans will love this spin on the Pride and Prejudice story.  While she did not steal the show in the original book, middle sister Mary has her moment in the spotlight in The Pursuit of...

The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels By: Ree Drummond Fans of the popular Food Network show The Pioneer Woman may be surprised to know that celebrity chef Ree Drummond writes more than just cookbooks.  Her book Black Heels to Tractor Wheels is an autobiographical account...

Die Again By: Tess Gerritsen Fans of Tess Gerritsen’s Rizzoli & Isles series will rejoice at the return of this dynamic duo in Die Again. While most of the R&I books center on the personal lives of the detective and medical examiner, this latest novel focuses on the...